Vegan Polenta

My oh my.  I’ve got a couple of drafts going that I haven’t finished; I’m researching a couple of other stories and… where does the time fly?

Polenta is a tasty compliment to many meals, but I’ve had to basically give it up because my wife now needs to avoid dairy products.  Thanks to a recipe given to me by Judy, the chef at Unity Charter School, we can enjoy it again.

While I was working in the school kitchen one day, helping to prepare lunch (vegetarian school lunch, with as much locally grown and organic food as we can incorporate!  Can you kid’s school say that?), she shared this idea with me.  She envisioned it as an alternative to butter and cheese in risotto.  Before tonight, I’d only used it once, with polenta.  I figured it was time to cook it again.  It’s ridiculously simple:

  • olive oil
  • 1/2 to 1 bunch of parsley, free of stems and chopped fine
  • salt to taste
  • 3 – 4 tablespoons of nutritional yeast

I prepare polenta from Marcella Hazan’s recipe.  Get 6 1/2 quarts of water to a merry boil; gradually add in 2 cups of coarse corn meal and a tablespoon of salt.  Reduce heat and stir constantly.

I honestly can’t remember if Judy’s intention was to cook this combination, but I did tonight and it came out swimmingly. Heat the olive oil and add garlic.  Cook for two minutes or so; add the parsley.  After five minutes, stir into the polenta with nutritional yeast.  I generally don’t add salt, as I’ve put it in the polenta.  You’ll have a nice, yummy, earthy dish.  If you want to cheat, you can sprinkle grated Parmesan on top of your polenta, and the dairy-avoiders in the household will still be able to enjoy it.  Buon apetito!

About Peter, a/k/a sourdoughdaddy

Husband, dad, personal trainer, cross-country skier, trail runner, writer.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

